Article History, Revisions and Versioning

Updated 7 months ago ​by Jake Peters

HelpDocs is designed to be used as a team. But sometimes when you have a lot of users working on an article, things get messed up. Or you delete something you shouldn't have. Or make a change you regret.

That's why HelpDocs ships with non-destructive version control.

When you or your teammates hit save, we'll save a new version of the article. Then if you need to, you can browse previous versions and restore to any point in time.

For every version we save:

  • Its version number
  • A unique id to prevent collisions (something you'll never directly use)
  • The article body
  • The user_id of the user that's making the change

We also give you a button to instantly restore the article to its previous state.

HelpDocs saves the most recent 10 versions of all your articles

Browsing and Restoring Versions

  1. In the article editor, click x versions in the bottom left to head to the versions panel
  2. You'll see all the saved versions as tabs at the top of the screen. Click one to select it.
  3. To restore the version, hit Restore



How did we do?