Disabling Permalinks

by Jake Peters

HelpDocs links, by default, look a little like this:

yourdomain.helpdocs.io/article/38daS7DF-my-article

These links are permanent. If you change slug, article title, or move the article to a different category, your link will continue working. They're very safe to share.

We have an option to disable permalinks by default and use versions of URLs that look something like this:

yourdomain.helpdocs.io/my-category/my-article

If you disable permalinks, be careful not to change your article's slug or category once you've shared a link. The old link(s) will no longer be valid.

Like everything in HelpDocs, it's just a couple taps to check it out: 

  1. Head to SettingsGeneral
  2. Check Disable Permalinks
  3. Hit Save

How Did We Do?