Skip to main content
Table of Contents

Managing Users

Manage team docs: invite users, set roles, and control access with ease

Taylor Sloane
Updated by Taylor Sloane
Table of Contents

Different people on your team build and market different parts of your product. It makes sense to collaborate on your docs and let experts write everything they know about each feature.

Here's how to create, manage, and delete users on your HelpDocs account 👥

If you've got a lot of users inside your account, you'll see rows of users in a table rather than cards, but the process is always the same.

Understanding Roles

You can assign roles to team members you invite to HelpDocs depending on the actions they'll take inside the product. Here's a quick summary:

  • Read-only: can view content only
  • Writer: can create and edit articles and clips
  • Editor: can also publish, reorder, and manage permissions
  • Administrator: can also manage users, billing, and branding
  • Owner: has full control, including transferring ownership

Here's a full breakdown:

Feature

Read-only

Writer

Editor

Administrator

Owner

Transfer Ownership

-

-

-

-

Edit Branding

-

-

-

Manage Users

-

-

-

Manage Billing

-

-

-

Manage API Keys

-

-

-

View Audit

-

-

-

Manage Clips

-

-

View Stats

-

-

Publish Articles

-

-

Edit Permissions

-

-

Edit Authorship

-

-

Reorder Content

-

-

Delete Published Articles

-

-

Edit & Save Articles

-

Create Articles

-

Create Clips

-

View Clips

-

View Content

Inviting a User

You can quickly invite users to your account. While you're waiting for them to accept the invitation they'll show up in the Users tab with an Invited badge badge.

Pending invitations take up slots on your account. Head to Billing to check or adjust your seats.
  1. Head to Settings > Access
  2. Click Invite users in the top right
  3. Fill out their email address, their role, any Permission Groups and if you'd like to send them an email invite
    If you don't send over an email invite they'll need to head to yourdomain.helpdocs.io/signup and enter their email address there
  4. Click Send Invite
Invite multiple users by separating email addresses with a comma:
chromegoose@helpdocs.io,lindatherabbit@helpdocs.io,liveythepelican@helpdocs.io

Changing the Default User Role

When you invite a new team member in Settings > Access they'll automatically be assigned a specific user role. You can change the role they'll be assigned.

  1. Head to Settings > Access > Options and head to the Defaults section
  2. From the Default User Role dropdown menu select the role you'd like to be assigned
  3. Click Save Changes
Dropdown menu showing Default User Role options in HelpDocs settings.

Managing Users

Filtering Users

Looking for a certain someone? You can filter by users' activity, role, and user groups to find the subset of users you're interested in.

  1. Head to Settings > Access > Members
  2. Click Filter in the top right to expand the filtering options
  3. Add your filters. You can filter by:
    • Name
    • Email
    • Inactive for x amount of time
    • Active in the last x amount of time
    • User group
    • Role
  4. Click Apply
Filter People sidebar panel with dropdowns for name, status, user groups, role, and activity

Bulk Edit Users

Looking to modify lots of your users at once? You can use our handy Bulk Edit tools for your users.

  1. Head to Settings > Access > Users
  2. Select which users you'd like to modify using the checkboxes
  3. Change your attributes. You can modify:
    • Role
    • Read-only groups
    • Full-access groups
  4. Hit Save changes
Edit Users modal in HelpDocs showing two selected team members and a role dropdown.

Deleting Users

If you're an Administrator or Owner you can delete users from your account.

  1. Head to Settings > Access > Users
  2. Select which users you'd like to delete using the checkboxes
  3. Click Edit x people
  4. Click Delete users
  5. Double check, then click Confirm delete users
If you delete a user all their articles remain exactly as they are now. The articles they have written are preserved ✨

Changing User Roles

  1. Head to Settings > Access > Users
  2. Click the checkbox next to the team members you'd like to edit and click Edit User
  3. Choose a new role from the Role dropdown
  4. Click Save Changes
Edit Users modal in HelpDocs showing the role selection dropdown menu

Viewing Last Active Time

In the corner of each user's profile image in the users table you'll see a little dot indicating their status. If the user is currently online that dot will be green. If they're offline the dot will be grey.

It'll also say when they were last online underneath their name.

If you've got many users, hover over their avatar on the row to show the last seen date.
Three user cards showing team members with role badges like Editor, Administrator, and Owner

Transferring Ownership

If you're the owner of your account you can transfer ownership to any other user.

  1. Head to Settings > Access > Members
  2. Select the user you wish to transfer ownership to
  3. Click Edit User
  4. In the Role dropdown select Owner
  5. Hit Save Changes
Once you transfer your account to a new owner you'll become an Administrator instead. There's no way to reassign ownership to yourself later on. If you transfer ownership by mistake, contact support in-app as soon as possible.

What did you think of this doc?

Import from a CSV

Logging In To Your HelpDocs

Get in touch